Liberty PreceptorClinical placement for Liberty nursingFind my preceptor
Nebraska

Liberty practicum for Nebraska nursing students

Nebraska is approved for practicum in each Liberty online nursing program. The Nebraska Board of Nursing oversees pre-licensure programs only, leaving post-licensure education outside its regulation, so Liberty's RN-to-BSN, MSN and APRN clinicals need no approval from the board. Your work is the preceptor, the site and a Nebraska or multistate RN license, with Liberty approving the first two.

Get your placement plan

Tell us your Liberty track and where you live. A placement advisor replies with what a Liberty-ready preceptor and site look like for you.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

2,000supervised hours before full NP practice in Nebraska
Liberty nursing practicum in Nebraska: allowed for DNP: FNP and DNP: PMHNP, PMHNP certificate, Post-MSN DNP, MSN Community Health, Policy, Informatics, MSN Nurse Educator and Administration, RN-to-BSN. RN license: in the compact. NP practice: full.
Nebraska on Liberty's state licensure lookup: practicum allowed for 6 of 6 program groups; RN license in the compact; NP practice full (AANP).

Post-licensure study sits outside the board's approval

According to Nebraska DHHS, the Board's approval covers pre-licensure programs offered to Nebraska residents, and any program that teaches students in Nebraska on a path to the NCLEX must reach out to the Board. Post-licensure programs, online or not, fall outside its regulation. Every Liberty online track is post-licensure, and Liberty's Nebraska lookup page names no extra state step.

Two DHHS positions still matter for Liberty. Following NCSBN guidance, DHHS treats practice as taking place wherever the student is, which means faculty must be licensed in the state you're in, and those teaching APRN students must hold Nebraska APRN licensure. That's Liberty's to satisfy, not yours; the practicum team can confirm it.

In Nebraska, the program sets preceptor qualifications for post-licensure students, so Liberty's criteria are the ones your preceptor has to meet.

Programs open in Nebraska, and the telehealth line

Per DHHS, it's the nursing program that sets up preceptors directly with clinical facilities. Liberty's rules, not Nebraska's, also decide how much of your practicum can run by telehealth.

Liberty online programs in Nebraska
Liberty programNebraska practicumTelehealth hours
DNP: FNPApprovedNone allowed
DNP: PMHNP, Post-BSN or Post-MSNApprovedUp to 50%
PMHNP post-graduate certificateApprovedUp to 50%
DNP, post-master'sApprovedNot stated by Liberty
MSN tracks, MSN/MBA, MSN/MSHAApprovedNot stated by Liberty
RN-to-BSNApprovedNot stated by Liberty

Hours per track are on Liberty clinical hours, and the telehealth rules on telehealth hours.

Full practice after 2,000 supervised hours

AANP rates Nebraska as full practice, which an NP attains once they've put in 2,000 practice hours under a supervising provider. For your search, that means a newly licensed NP may still be working under a supervising provider, while a more experienced one practices independently.

Liberty decides which preceptors it approves, and its FNP criteria aren't public; an older PMHNP FAQ names a PMHNP or psychiatrist. Preceptor requirements covers what is known.

Your RN license for Nebraska hours

The Nurse Licensure Compact has been in effect in Nebraska since January 19, 2018, and Liberty accepts an active Nebraska or multistate RN license. The APRN Compact isn't enacted here. If you move into Nebraska mid-program, file Liberty's State Change Notification form; an address change in myLU doesn't count for licensure. See RN license for practicum.

The Omaha metro reaches into Iowa. A site on the Iowa side falls under Iowa's rules and Liberty's Iowa lookup page, not Nebraska's, so check Iowa before you accept one.

Omaha, Lincoln and Grand Island

The Census Bureau's 2025 estimates put about 887,000 people in the Nebraska part of the Omaha metro, about 352,000 in Lincoln and about 78,000 in Grand Island. Large systems worth approaching include Children's Nebraska, Bryan Health, CHI Health, Nebraska Methodist Health System and Nebraska Medicine; treat them as prospects, not sites Liberty has cleared. Our research recorded no Nebraska preceptor incentive.

Outside those three metros, distances grow. Liberty warns NP students they may travel for a preceptor, and turning down an offered site for distance means finding your own replacement.

Why Nebraska students choose us

We search Nebraska for a preceptor and site that meet Liberty's criteria for your track, and prepare the preceptor's CV, license and site details for your Gate course. Liberty approves every placement, and ours arrive ready for that review. Tell us your county and track to get a search moving; how it works lays out each step.

FAQ

Questions Liberty students ask

Does the Nebraska Board of Nursing have to approve my Liberty clinicals?

No. Per DHHS, post-licensure programs aren't regulated by the Board, however they're delivered, so RN-to-BSN, graduate and APRN clinicals have no board approval step. Its approval role covers pre-licensure programs. Liberty's Nebraska page adds no filing either, though Liberty still approves your site and preceptor.

Who decides whether my Nebraska preceptor is qualified?

DHHS leaves preceptor qualifications for post-licensure students to the nursing program, which also makes preceptor arrangements directly with clinical facilities. For you, that means Liberty's criteria and Liberty's approval. Send the preceptor's CV and license details through your Gate course and let the practicum team make the call.

Is there still a separate APRN board in Nebraska?

Possibly not. Board rosters that DHHS posted through June 2026 included a Board of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses. That board is missing from the July and September 2026 rosters, which instead show the Board of Nursing with APRN, CNS and CNM members whose terms began July 1, 2026. That points to a merger, but we haven't found a statute that confirms it.

Can a Nebraska PMHNP student do telehealth hours with an out-of-state preceptor?

Liberty allows telehealth for up to 50% of PMHNP practicum hours, and the preceptor still needs Liberty's approval. DHHS treats practice as happening where the student is located, which is the logic behind its faculty licensing rule. Ask the practicum team how it handles a preceptor licensed elsewhere before you log hours.

Last checked 2026-09-23

We check these pages against Liberty's own published sources. The practicum team and Liberty's current handbook have the final word.

Placement desk

More leads, sooner, for your practicum.

Tell us your Liberty program, your county and when your practicum starts. We look for a preceptor and site that fit Liberty's rules for your track, and help you get the Gate-course paperwork right.

  • Matched to your track: FNP, PMHNP, DNP or MSN
  • Paperwork ready for the Gate course and the site contract
  • In person near you, or telehealth where your track allows it

Start your placement plan

A placement advisor replies with what a Liberty-ready preceptor and site look like for you.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

Placement deskPlacement Coordinator · online